Absolute Beginner

Thread: Absolute Beginner

Question Absolute Beginner

My mother has given me my father's collection of pocket watches which belonged to both his mother and father's families. My father died 6 years ago at the age of 80. In some instances my grandfather (who died in 1959) had attached notes to them with what information he knew about the source of the watches within the family. I have no tools (other than a Leatherman) for getting into the watch movements. Even for those I can get into, I see no dates, except those included in engraved inscriptions. On e-bay the antique pocket watches are listed with a date--where'd they find it? Maybe my magnifier isn't good enough?

I've listed the 8 pocket watches on my profile. There are two Elgins, and I don't know how to get into their movements to do research--I see seams but no hinges.

I think the most interesting of the lot is a "Time Study" Swiss Jeanneret watch. Another has no makers marks on it, but the tag from my grandfather says he earned the watch selling Larkin soap. Any ideas on who would have made it? Again, I see no obvious way to open the back and see the movement. When he graduated high school in 1908 (per inscription) he was given a pocket watch from the Rockford Watch Co. with Bristol movement, and all kinds of marks on the movement and the case interior. This must have been his favorite, as it still has a picture of my grandmother taken at about the time of their marriage, post WWI.