Advice about a Favre Leuba Sea King
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By James A
  • 3 Post By Tomcat1960

Thread: Advice about a Favre Leuba Sea King

Advice about a Favre Leuba Sea King

So I've been learning about vintage mechanical watches for about six months now, admittedly having learned mostly by reading posts from you fellow forum members. Thank you for sharing all your knowledge and experience!

I've beem searching for a Favre Leuba since almost the get go but definitely did not want a crazy coloured redial and wanted to find one that didn't have a movement that looked pieced together from who knows where! I thought I had found one and purchased it and it arrived today. The seller claimed it was recently serviced and all original in perfect running order. However, the first thing that happened when I took it out of the packaging was the crystal fell out. The crown wound fine but it doesn't run. I also noticed that one of the two screws that holds the movement in place is missing and am wondering if this could be stopping it from running? If anyone can look at the pics and tell me if it looks good enough to fix and run I would appreciate it.
    - Mike

Re: Advice about a Favre Leuba Sea King

Hi,

You could try very gently to nudge the balance a couple of mill, this works for me to sometimes get a reluctant movement going. Be gentle and use a toothpick or similar on the outside of the wheel. If fully wound it should start right up with just this little effort. If no luck you might be in trouble. As you noticed screw at 6 is missing when compared with the good Dr.

Regards,

Now what kind of 'service' is that when the first thing to happen is the crystal popping out? A movement screw missing? Dirt on the dial?

Who 'serviced' it, anyway? A swineherd? To get a movement of which Dr. Ranfft used to say it assembles as easy as dropping its parts in a box and give it a good shake into such a sad state takes more than just negligence ...