Anyone care to tackle this long list of basic pocket watch questions from a novice writer?

Thread: Anyone care to tackle this long list of basic pocket watch questions from a novice writer?

Anyone care to tackle this long list of basic pocket watch questions from a novice writer?

I would like to help but am short on time, can anyone help him/her? I will email him a link to this thread and hopefully he will join the forum.
    Thanks in advance
    Best Regards
    Robert Laughlin
    Trebor's Vintage Watches
    www.vintagewatch.ca

Dear Robert,

I'm a novice writer with a lot of ambition. I'm writing a story that involves an old pocket watch - say, about 70- or 80-years old. However, I don't know a thing about pocket watches. I do not need to know anything complex about pocket watches or their inner workings. I'm only looking for the basic terminology relating to the outside of the pocket watch. I could really use your help, Robert.

Here are my questions:

1) At the top of the pocket watch, the knob (???) you depress with your thumb to open the lid (???) in order to see the time is called the "stem" or is called the "lever," Robert?

2) Does "stem wind" mean that you must wind the pocket watch yourself periodically?

3) What does "lever set" mean?

4) How does "lever set" differ from "stem wind and set," Robert?

5) What does "double roller" mean?

6) Would Roman numerals or Arabic numerals be more popular in a pocket watch manufactured in the 1920's?

7) What does "silverode case" mean?

8) What is a "bezel"?

9) The "case" is the front and back of the pocket watch, I presume. The picture (or scene) is always "engraved" on the front of the case?

10) Popular "scenes" engraved on pocket watches are hunting scenes, fishing scenes, and railroad steam / diesel engines, yes? Can you think of any others, Robert?

11) What is a "three finger bridge"?

12) Pocket watches can be manufactured from gold, silver, pewter, brass . . . any other materials?