Anyone collect vintage watches with inscriptions?

Thread: Anyone collect vintage watches with inscriptions?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Anyone collect vintage watches with inscriptions?

I am new to vintage watches. I've seen some vintage watches for sale with various inscriptions from Christmas, anniversaries, graduations, years of service with a company, etc. I find these watches quite touching since to me, anyway, they have some special meaning since they were given with love or as a recognition of accomplishment.

Do folks collect inscribed watches? Do the inscriptions add or detract from the value of a vintage watch? Or, am I just sentimental? lol

Seriously, if there is an organization or interest group of folks who collect watches with inscriptions please let me know. I really do find them interesting. Best regards, Scott.

Re: Anyone collect vintage watches with inscriptions?

Hi. Some people collect watches with the inscriptions of famous people - and may concentrate on a particular topic, such as sports. On the whole, though, most collectors prefer uninscribed pieces.

see this poll and thread.

https://forums.watchuseek.com/showthr...ight=inscribed

Personally, I don't mind them. They're part of the history of the watch and can add a little interest.
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects."

Will Rogers (1879 - 1935)

Please don't PM me to ask for a valuation - I won't attempt one.

Quote Originally Posted by harlo1 View Post
    I am new to vintage watches. I've seen some vintage watches for sale with various inscriptions from Christmas, anniversaries, graduations, years of service with a company, etc. I find these watches quite touching since to me, anyway, they have some special meaning since they were given with love or as a recognition of accomplishment.

Do folks collect inscribed watches? Do the inscriptions add or detract from the value of a vintage watch? Or, am I just sentimental? lol