Anyone willing to help a total newbie?
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Anyone willing to help a total newbie?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Anyone willing to help a total newbie?

Hello, all. I just found these forums, so I don't really know if this type of post is allowed, so please tell me if it's not and I'll be on my way.

My husband is about to finish his degree and I want to get him a cool graduation gift. He loves antiques, so I am looking at getting him a vintage pocket watch. The problem is, I know pretty much nothing about them, so I've just been browsing Ebay but I really don't know what I'm looking for or at. I'd love to get something military related, but that is not a must. I know I'm looking at the lower end of the price scale ($200 or less), so my options are more limited. I would love one with a front cover, but also not a must-have.

Would anyone be willing to point me in a good direction and/or look at the Ebay listing below and tell me if this is a decent watch/price (sorry, I had to put a couple spaces in the url so it would let me post)?

Again, sorry if this is not the place for this post

Ebay listing: Genuine Military Issue British WW1 Recta Pocket Watch RUNS and keeps time!

https://w ww.ebay.c om/itm/Genuine-Military-Issue-British-WW1-Recta-Pocket-Watch-RUNS-and-keeps-time/152945178983?hash=item239c3e3967:g:z8oAAOSwPypaXmS U

Re: Anyone willing to help a total newbie?

Mods: Please move to F11. Garcias.
    Courtesy of ULF.

Any reason you're set on a pocket watch? Seems like it'd be kind of a pain to carry around if you're not wearing a three piece suit - might not get much use. I guess unless he regularly wears one of those.

Either way, there are military-styled field watches in your approximate price range that are well-regarded. The Hamilton Khaki Field is a mechanical hand-wound (like most pocketwatches) wristwatch with a military style https://www.jomashop.com/hamilton-kh...h69419363.html

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com