Buying for investment, recommendation and the idea that only above a certain value counts?

Thread: Buying for investment, recommendation and the idea that only above a certain value counts?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Cool Buying for investment, recommendation and the idea that only above a certain value counts?

I'm new to the idea of watch collecting but very interested in it. I'm a student now but I would like to start investing in vintage pieces to start building a collection. My research though has lead me to believe watches that arent from a few very collectable makers (Patek Phillipe, Zenith, etc) seem to depreciate rather than appreciate. It seems that unless a watch is over $10'000 it will have little change of holding it's value, let alone appreciate? What are your thoughts on this?

I have become fascinated in vintage 40s and 50s Omegas that retail for about $200 dollars, and since the majority of it is just in owning the watch but a small requirement is that it holds or goes up in value, would these actually do the trick?

Re: Buying for investment, recommendation and the idea that only above a certain value cou

You may find this article of interest:

Take time and watch your money grow - Spend & Save , Money - The Independent

But its a bit like collecting vintage cars or antiques in general. Fashions come and go, 'values' go up and down, and there are never any guarantees. Moreover, if you spend a lot on a watch and it turns out to have unforeseen problems, then it will almost certainly be a poor investment.

Vintage Omegas are particularly likely to be dodgy - as the brand is well known and highly regarded. Therefore, unscrupulous sellers can 'modify' the more mundane models and pass them off as more sought after ones. For example, just by having the watch redialed with a certain word added. In the short term, it is very hard to make money out of buying and selling watches unless you can buy watches with problems and fix them yourself.