Buying a vintage pocket watch..what to do,look for?

Thread: Buying a vintage pocket watch..what to do,look for?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Buying a vintage pocket watch..what to do,look for?

Hi all

I am new to the forum and the world of vintage watches, pocket and movement´s.

I am seeking a vintage, 1880´s-pre 1940´s, vintage English pocket watch, with a English movement.

But, what do look for? I am seeking a high end movement, showing the time.
    I do not need the name of a famus maker on it, it is the movement I seek.

What movement are good, more easy to repair and so one?
    Some say a key wind fusee.....some say a pish stem winding one, some a cylinder and so one.

Hope some can help me

All help is good to me
    Thanks for looing

Cheers
    Vegard_dino

Re: Buying a vintage pocket watch..what to do,look for?

Thanks for posting. I'm not an expert but I'll try to answer.
    The golden age of the English lever was probably from 1830-1880. These are by and large keywind, full plate movements although some 3/4 plate movements are out there. The English watch industry suffered severely after 1880 because of American and Swiss manufactured movements. The English never really got into factory manufacture in the 1870s and 1880s and their industry declined irreversably as a result.
    You'll find many late 19th century English cased Swiss and American movements. In the 20th century there are some English made movements like Smiths but they are not as common as Swiss or US made ones and not of the highest quality although decent watches.
    The mid 19th century English levers are sturdy and fairly reliable but they are going to be expensive to service and repair. Standardized parts are not available, so if something is worn out it's necessary to cannibalize another watch or make a part. Many watchmakers don't like working on fusees so make sure you know one who does. "Easy to repair" and "English lever" rarely are spoken or written in the same context.