Can someone help me identifying this pocket watch?
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By eri231

Thread: Can someone help me identifying this pocket watch?

Can someone help me identifying this pocket watch?

Hi,

I have recently inherit from my grandfather the 18k gold wacth shown in the pictures attached. He probably bought it at the beggining of last century and now he has given it to me so I can take care of it and pass it to generations to come.

I would like to know a bit more about it. I have tried to search on the internet but without being an expert I have not found any information at all.

There is an iscription with the serial number located inside the watch mechanism back cover. The number is 1747.

The watch is not working so I would also like to know if there is anyone out here that knows where I could take it to repair it.

Thank you very much for your help in advance!!!

Best Regards,

Juan
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Can someone help me identifying this pocket watch?

A nice watch you've got... Judging by the looks of it, I would say it's from the late 1920s or the 1930s (that's because a painted metal dial instead of an enamel one would be something quite usual in that particular period). I guess it's one of these watches made by local jewelry and watches retailers in various countries- in this case, Cuba. Same thing as with Cuervo y Sobrinos chronographs- Swiss movements were imported to Cuba, where they were placed in locally produced cases and equipped with the retailer's dials. The movement here is a nicely finished generic calibre, probably made by FHF (though that layout of bridges was used by other movement manufacturers as well). The strange thing is how close the seconds subdial is to the centre- I would say that this movement was probably intended for a ladies' pendant watch originally- though if these found their way into wristwatches, one in a man's pocket watch is no surprise.