dirt stains on vintage watches dails

Thread: dirt stains on vintage watches dails

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Unhappy dirt stains on vintage watches dails

this is a common issue with vintage watches, my question is- can something be done, can the stains (spots, dirt, whatever its being called) at some spots on a dail can be cleaned?

some people like to have it this way, cause in this way the "years" the watch have seen are more obvious, but i would like to make the dail crisper, cleaner dail.

does anyone knows how to get arround this?

i don't want to demage the dail, nor my watchman want, but i want some expert advice from you guys, since i'm only a newbie.

any help is welcomed!

thanks,
    newbb

Re: dirt stains on vintage watches dails

Quote Originally Posted by newbb View Post
    some people like to have it this way, cause in this way the "years" the watch have seen are more obvious...
    In the Marine Corps the badge of distinction to which you refer is called "T.I." which stands for "time in (the Marine Corps)." We always wanted the older style gear that had lots of wear, lest we look like a newb (not a word we used back then!).

I would like to read some expert answers to your question myself, as we sometimes hear horror stories about redials gone bad.
    Regards from Sunny San Diego..........Tom

thanks for your info pacifichrono!

actualy, i wont ever give any (even a legendery) watchman to try do a redail to my watch, cause even the most experienced, professional person can demage the dail.. it is not %100 sure when redailing ..

i mean- cleaning the stain out of the dail.

cause, i believe that these little stains at the edges of dails (on white dails they are the most anoying and noticable) came out from tiny micro bits of dirt that somehow got into the dails space and year after year had glued up together into a noticable stain that looks real ugly on white dails..