Discovery: Vintage Gallet
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Discovery: Vintage Gallet

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Discovery: Vintage Gallet

Hello all,

As a newbie, I'd originally joined this forum to ask typical novice questions about entry-level/affordable watches and whatnot -- but I just found this yesterday in an old box of dad's things:

Based on the information from another thread, I'm guessing this is a MultiChron 12, presently on a Kreisler stainless mesh band (presumably of the same vintage). He's been gone for some time now, but I remember dad occasionally wore this watch when I was a little kid. I hadn't seen it in many years. Unfortunately, I don't have any accompanying documentation, box, etc.

The crystal has obviously seen better days, but the dial appears to be in decent condition. The "reset" plunger functions but feels quite stiff. The elapsed hours indicator works, but counts forward from and returns to the pictured position instead of 12:00. Everything else seems okay as far as I can tell. I have no idea if the watch had ever been serviced. There are no markings on the case.

At some point I would like to invest in restoration/repair, however a $750 expenditure isn't possible for me at the moment.

(Apologies if I've botched any terminology in the above description.)

With all that out of the way, I'd like to ask:

1) Are there enough identifying features to pin down a specific year (or range) of origin?
    2) When I'm able to get the watch serviced, should I assume it's best to let Gallet perform the work, or are there other options I should know about?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
    huntershooter likes this.

Zenith Forum Co-moderator

Re: Discovery: Vintage Gallet

Congratulations on a fine watch. I am not an expert in Gallet but would tentatively put it in the fifties, judging by the overall style. As for servicing, I am sure any good watchmaker experienced with chronographs could do just as well.

Hartmut Richter