Dubois 1785

Thread: Dubois 1785

Dubois 1785

Hi everybody,

I bought a nice little watch some days ago, named DUBOIS 1785. Does anybody has any information about this brand or this particular watch?

Thanx!

Re: Dubois 1785

DuBois is a very old Swiss firm founded in Le Locle in fact even earlier than 1785. However they made pocket watches and repeaters.
    I don't know much about their wrist watch production at all. Nor do I know if the maker of your watch is still that old firm or whether they have re-energized the brand in modern times. Perhaps one of our European experts knows more.
    Your watch has the style of a 1950s model but whether it's that old or not...:-S I think we need to see a picture the movement to hazard a guess.

There are fathers who do not love their children; there is no grandfather who does not adore his grandson. ~ Victor Hugo

Well, I am not very experienced with vintage watches, so I do not know how to open the bottom without damaging the housing...

The seller told me that this watch is actual from the 50s. I guess the trend of re-vamping old names is much newer - right?

Unfortunately, the watch is approx. 5 min behind per day. :(

Greetings from sunny Germany!
    Markus

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Well I think your watch is probably authentic then, but it will need a cleaning. A watchmaker should be able to tell you more about the movement as well.

There are fathers who do not love their children; there is no grandfather who does not adore his grandson. ~ Victor Hugo

Hi -

DuBois is nowadays rather higher-end than most. Very, very nice condition watch you have there, very clean dial. Enjoy it (but also have a watchmaker check on it!)