ETERNA collectors...a few Kontiki questions
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Habitant
  • 1 Post By DaBaeker

Thread: ETERNA collectors...a few Kontiki questions

ETERNA collectors...a few Kontiki questions

So, while not new to 50s/60s vintage I am new to Etrerna as I own none. I had a few buddies on the Omega forum who were nuts over Eterna and I do know what they are known for most- the 5 bearing rotor and automatic innovations. That said I would like to know if I got myself into a pickle, or lucked into a decent gamble, or, just did so-so. And yes-I understand I took a big chance w/o movement pics and would always advise a beginner to shy away from any eBay vintage with no movement pics but I am fairly certain watch is untouched for years.

I normally research first-then bid- but in this case it was just a hunch late at night and -in particular-the really good looking dial with the exceptionally interesting 12-6-9 and subsidiary index markers plus the inexperience of the seller made me want to take the gamble. But the index markers? never saw any quite like this before.

SO to start....I was REALLY searching for a nice 50s triple date to replace a nice Zodiac tripleD I sold a while back. Somehow-an Eterna Centenarie '56 came up for $200BIN and I was intrigued. Then, searching for more Centenaries for comparison and info- this Kontiki popped up. I know the Kontiki dive watch from its reputation as a military (IDF) diver and expected even a plain SS Kontiki would be fairly pricey by virtue of its connection to the bezel/diver. Plus-the beefy case and chunky markers pulled me in, reminds me of a 60s DJ.

So while normally I am one of the one's here always saying: do the research BEFORE you buy-in this case it was late at night and I just impulsively took a gamble. But in order to determine the sellers 'reserve' I used an old bay trick which I guess came back to bite me on the butt. I had to bid higher then I would have and couldn't retract due to an