A Favorite Ingersoll 1901 Pan American

Thread: A Favorite Ingersoll 1901 Pan American

A Favorite Ingersoll 1901 Pan American

I am finally getting back to this board to begin showing a few of my Dollar Watches. I have been collecting these gems for about 5 years now, and though some consider this realm of Horology to be insignificant, we must remember that even though many of these watches were in the $1.00-$5.00 price range, They were the first watch that many boys, girls,men and women could afford to own between the years of 1880-1960's, and roughly 200,000,000 were manufactured,by approx. 10 companies.
    This 1901 Ingersoll Watch commemorating the Pan American Exposition held in Buffalo, New York has one of the most beautiful paper dials of any I have ever seen. This event also had the unfortunate reputation of being the place where President William McKinley was assasinated.
    Rob31 NAWCC Ch. 106,149 click on image for larger version
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: A Favorite Ingersoll 1901 Pan American

beautiful dial and movement... certainly not anything you think about when you hear 'dollar watch'. Thanks for posting!
    "Forever is composed of nows." - Emily Dickinson

"The watch has to be surrounded by a history.
    You need more than just a great design. You need to create an atmosphere around the product.
    Who is the company behind it? Why are they using this material?
    People need to be able to identify the watch with themselves. It's based on emotion." - Ralph Furter

...that's just my opinion and I've been wrong before and will be again and might be now!