First pocket watch for son's graduation
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: First pocket watch for son's graduation

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

First pocket watch for son's graduation

Friends, my son's interest in pocket watches brings me into your world.
    He is graduating from high school in a few weeks. When we asked him what he might like to commemorate the event he said, much to our amazement, that he would like a pocket watch. Not a new one, mind you, but a vintage one, because, as he told his mother, "old is always better." Bless his heart.
    I have no experience in such things and would appreciate any guidance. The appropriate watch need not be gold, jewel encrusted, or from the shop of a lone, celibate Swiss watch-maker living in the shadow of the Matterhorn. But it should have integrity and subtle artistry. It should have some historical context (perhaps a trainman's piece) and keep a modicum of good time. And it should make my boy smile every time he takes it out to see when he in world he is.
    I am obliged in advance.
    David

Vintage & NAWCC Forum moderator Ben_hutcherson's Avatar

Re: First pocket watch for son's graduation

I'll offer my standard suggestion and say that you can't go wrong with a Hamilton 992B.

These were made from 1940-1970, and are the pinnacle of American watch design and production. In good condition, they can keep time as well as anything(mechanical) coming out of Switzerland today. Replacement parts are readily available, and they are simple to repair.

There are a large variety of different styled cases and dials available for these to suit your son's taste. Prices range from about $200 for one in a stainless steel case in well used but serviceable condition. to around $1000 for a near-unused boxed example.
    Member National Association of Watch and Clock Collectors
    Member, NAWCC Chapter 149. Vice President and Secretary NAWCC Chapter 140. Member, NAWCC Convention Committee.