First post + help determining if this LeCoultre dial has been refinished?

Thread: First post + help determining if this LeCoultre dial has been refinished?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

First post + help determining if this LeCoultre dial has been refinished?

Hello all, and thanks for all the work you do to make WUS such a unique and vibrant resource.

I'm quite new to collecting but I've been quite fortunate to receive a 60s-era Jaeger LeCoultre from my father, and to pick up a second vintage JLC on my own recently. I have my eye on a third JLC-made watch — and thanks to WUS I'm now fully versed in the "Jaeger LeCoultre vs LeCoultre" distinction — but I'm not convinced fully that its 100% original. Might I be able to trouble you to eyeball the dial and let me know if it appears to have been refinished? (And if the picture isn't helpful, are there any tell-tale signs I might look for?)

Please see below — I'd be thankful for any insights.

Name:  lecoultre-dial.jpg
Views: 370
Size:  132.3 KB

I look forward to contributing to WUS more myself just as soon as I catch up on a few hundred years of horological history.

Re: First post + help determining if this LeCoultre dial has been refinished?

Hi and welcome.

There are much more knowledgeable members than me who can provide an opinion - but the fact that the word 'Swiss' is present at the very bottom of the dial is one indication of an original dial (hard, but not impossible, for refinishers to do).
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects."

Will Rogers (1879 - 1935)

Please don't PM me to ask for a valuation - I won't attempt one.

I think (no expert) if this had been refinished you would think the secs indexs would all be there. And most refinished dials look factory fresh. So from me looks orginal and would love a JLC in my collection......... may be one day.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Vint. Forum Co-Moderator Mirius's Avatar