Found old Lanco watch - any info?
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Found old Lanco watch - any info?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Found old Lanco watch - any info?

Hi,

I've been lurking the forum for while, but finally decided to join. I'm rather new to this whole watch business, but find it very interesting. On a daily basis I'm wearing a Tissot Quartz watch, but I'm really falling in love with specially the Omega PO8500. Rolex Sub or Todor Pelagos are other interesting choices, but I'm not really ready to pull the trigger on anything yet - it is a pretty big investment for me.

Anyway, until today I figured one of the above would be my first mechanical watch. But while going through all my old childhood stuff in my parents house, I found this old Lanco watch (which I don't know anything about). First I did t really notice and just though it was some very cheap Quartz watch, but then I took a closer look and saw it was still running, with that smooth second hand. I find it very strange, since this watch much have been hidden in a bag for atleast 15 years (since my grandfather died, I suspect it was his).

Anyboby know anything about this watch? When was it produced? Is it just a very cheap watch produced in the millions? Watching other Lanco watches on places like EBay, I realize it's not something worth much. But it would be nice knowing a bit more about its history.

I see I cannot post photos yet, here some info:

Lanco
    17 JEWELS
    SHOCKPROTECTED
    SWISS MADE T

backside:

Lanco
    15/15 3040
    Stainless Steel
    Antimagnetic
    Water and Shockproof
    Swiss Made

I hope somebody knows something about this one. Thanks in advance.

Zenith Forum Co-moderator

Re: Found old Lanco watch - any info?