General accuracy issue question.

Thread: General accuracy issue question.

General accuracy issue question.

Another question from the new guy. Recently I picked up an older mid-70's era Seiko auto. While the watch looks as if its barely been worn its running wayyyyy slow. As in we're talking about losing 1-2 hours PER DAY, which is rather serious. From what little I've read here and elsewhere the likely probability is that it needs a cleaning and oiling, which is something I honestly know is at this point beyond my ability seeing as I have no tools or experience in this area. The local watch shop would charge probably $60 for the service. That said- this isn't exactly the nicest model and I'd rather avoid putting that kind of money into it. As a last resort, could this be a matter of the settings needing adjustments? This is something I'd have to have done professionally as well because I'm guessing there must be some sort of tuning tool for this out there. I get a bad feeling this isn't the problem and instead its a matter of cleaning it.

Re: General accuracy issue question.

I'll let more proficient mechanical experts chime in on suggestions, but $60 is not too bad a price for a professional cleaning and servicing.
    I've got more Converse sneakers than watches, but it is a close race.

Yup, 60 bones ain't bad at all, assuming the repair person is capable. It's always a balance, cost of watch/ cost of repair/ sentimental value

Good luck, and post photos!
    Pink Floyd. Dark side of the moon. Side one, track four.
    Gallet Facebook page:
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/GalletChronographs/

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements