Like Tree12Likes
  • 6 Post By CC Texas
  • 4 Post By Tick Talk
  • 1 Post By laikrodukas
  • 1 Post By CC Texas

Thread: Grandparent's Graduation Gift - 8 pics

Grandparent's Graduation Gift - 8 pics

Hello friends!
    I graduated in December, and ever since then I have been wanting to share my present my dad's parents gave me. Life has just been super busy post-grad.
    Enjoy the history! :)

1881 AWC Keystone - Great Great Grand's pocket-watch with a picture of him and his wife. This shadowbox was always displayed at my grandparent's with the railroad Elgin inside, but it should have been this. No cracks in the dial.
    Name:  IMG_1188.jpg
Views: 78
Size:  111.9 KBName:  IMG_1187.jpg
Views: 64
Size:  128.7 KBName:  IMG_1197.jpg
Views: 61
Size:  118.8 KB

1908 Elgin Grade 291 - Great Grand
    Name:  IMG_1195.jpg
Views: 63
Size:  118.9 KBName:  IMG_1193.jpg
Views: 58
Size:  149.6 KB

1919 Elgin Grade 455 - Great Grand - I also have his Vibroplex Telegraph key. I think his occupation was something to do with servicing water tanks alongside the railroads.
    Sorry for the bad picture. The case back screws on pretty tight and I don't want to get it off again.
    Name:  IMG_1194.jpg
Views: 55
Size:  136.5 KBName:  IMG_8107.JPG
Views: 73
Size:  97.2 KB

1929 Hamilton Grade 912 14k - Not in the family.
    Name:  IMG_1190.jpg
Views: 71
Size:  134.0 KBName:  IMG_1192.jpg
Views: 56
Size:  131.4 KBName:  IMG_1191.jpg
Views: 65
Size:  128.7 KB
    Quite an award being 14k and 1929. All I can find on J.E. Majure is several links to an old Texas newspaper, unreadable without paying. 1953, 59, 61, 65. He might have been a doctor and victim of a robbery. My grandmother thought it was bought at a garage sale decades ago. Could that metal dial clean up any? It's like there are a bunch of specs and scratches, and I'm not sure if that's damage or dirt.
    I hope to have them all serviced at some point, I just dunno which one first! :P