Gruen chronograph

Thread: Gruen chronograph

Gruen chronograph

I've been looking over Gruen watches of late, and came across this chronograph on ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.ca/SCARSE-VINTAGE-GR...item2eabcbd2df

Generally, chronos seem far out of my price range, but this one might not be out of the realm of possibility. Any thoughts? Are chronograph-certified movements any more dicey than other automatic movements?

What's the general feeling on Gruens from this era?

Thanks,

Jim

Re: Gruen chronograph

This is a 17 jeweled Venus 188 movement. It is hand wound. This particular example shows no obvious reasons not to buy it to me... but I am not an expert.

This is another example of the state of Swiss chronographs during this period. Gruen was using movements from specialty vendors just like everybody else.

It's a fine watch but not one that would be good as your only watch... from reports servicing generally takes several months from most watchmakers nowadays and only the ones that are real watchmakers will do vintage chronographs.
    "Forever is composed of nows." - Emily Dickinson

"The watch has to be surrounded by a history.
    You need more than just a great design. You need to create an atmosphere around the product.
    Who is the company behind it? Why are they using this material?
    People need to be able to identify the watch with themselves. It's based on emotion." - Ralph Furter

...that's just my opinion and I've been wrong before and will be again and might be now!