Gruen pocket watch

Thread: Gruen pocket watch

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Gruen pocket watch

Hello.

I recently inherited this Gruen pocket watch and have been unable to find anything like it in on-line searches. I am not a 'watch person' and would rather not take it out of the case to get pictures of the movement because I just paid a rather sizeable repair bill to get this beautiful watch running. I may be able to get information from the watchmaker who repaired it, if it would be helpful. I apologize for the quality of the pictures. I am not very good with the digital camera.

Does anyone have any idea as to where I can further research this watch or what the age might be?

Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Last edited by saubre; May 27th, 2011 at 03:23.

Re: Gruen pocket watch

That's a humdinger of a watch, but unfortunately, records for the Gruen Watch Company were destroyed in the 1950s. So it's impossible to tell it's age. It would have a serial-number on the movement, but without the records from the company, (which don't exist anymore) we couldn't tell you the age.

What's the history of it?
    "Pipes are occasionally of extraordinary interest...nothing has more individuality save, perhaps, watches and bootlaces."

- Sherlock Holmes.

'The Yellow Face'.

I neglected to include measurements. The watch is 1 1/2" from the bottom of the case to the top of the stem, 1 1/4" from side to side and just a little more than 1/4" thick with the case closed.

Thanks again!
    Last edited by saubre; May 27th, 2011 at 03:24.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

My maternal grandfather owned a jewelry store in the 1920's. We found it while cleaning my mother's house after her death. I don't know if it is part of the inventory of that store or something Mom picked up somewhere along the way.

It is very nice, but as you suspect - without seeing the movement, information is tricky to pin down.