Harwood Auto Display Back Wristwatch
Like Tree11Likes
  • 10 Post By thoth
  • 1 Post By journeyforce

Thread: Harwood Auto Display Back Wristwatch

Harwood Auto Display Back Wristwatch

I have been collecting for over 25 years and have known about who Harwood was for many of those...but shame on me I never put up the money to buy one....until now.

The dim grainy pics on the auction site made it look so bad. The vague description made it even more risky. Said it was cleaned recently...in very poor grammer. You only live once and it is just money, I just don't tell the wife that it is just money...she is an accountant. I bit the bullet, pulled the trigger, and put my money where my mouth is. When it arrived it looked much better than the pictures. The case had crud in the engraved parts of the case. The movement was obviously dirty. I set to work on my new jewel of the collection.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Front.jpg 
Views:	117 
Size:	2.24 MB 
ID:	11171297

The crystal is scuffed but is glass. The case sides cleaned up nice....

Name:	Side.jpg 
Views:	119 
Size:	1.66 MB 
ID:	11171337

The real treat was the back. The seller said that someone in the past had put a crystal on the back. I was expecting some poorly cut out case back with a plastic crystal glued on....surprisingly it too is glass and anything other than a botched job...

Name:	Back.jpg 
Views:	116 
Size:	2.11 MB 
ID:	11171345

There is even a formed bezel on the back. So either this is original or someone with skill at case making adding it later.

Name:	Case back.jpg 
Views:	115 
Size:	2.79 MB 
ID:	11171361

Name:	Inside back.jpg 
Views:	116 
Size:	1.08 MB 
ID:	11171369

The movement has had a basic clean and oil. It still needs a good thorough clean. When I got it the regulator was hard banked to slow. Nice and in the middle now. Not perfect but better.

Name:	Movement 1.jpg 
Views:	114 
Size:	911.8 KB 
ID:	11171377

Name:	Movement 2.jpg 
Views:	110 
Size:	937.8 KB 
ID:	11171385