Help with buying vintage Omega for son's 21st
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Help with buying vintage Omega for son's 21st

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Help with buying vintage Omega for son's 21st

Hi,

I would be very grateful for advice buying a vintage Omega, something like a Geneve or a Seamaster - budget around £500. This would be for my son's 21st birthday at the end of May who is into all things 60's, great fan of Madmen, etc. I am sure that this question has been asked a lot but can't find any recent threads. Some recommended Ebay sellers in the past do not seem to be operating. I have some experience with collecting new watches in that price range, (Seiko, Tissot, Steinhart, Junghans, Certina etc) but never bought a vintage

So first question is whether doable on this budget and without more experience perhaps I should maybe avoid going down this route. If it is possible then I can start doing some more detailed research. Attaching link to watch on Ebay which I felt initially looked promising.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Rare-Vint....c100011.m1850

Positives I thought was that it was from the UK, had picture of movement, aged patina, reasonable detailed description and 100% positive feedback. However don't like the fact that no returns are accepted so would pass on that account.

Any general pointers, recommended sellers etc would be most welcome.

Regards

Jez
    busmatt likes this.

Re: Help with buying vintage Omega for son's 21st

There was a fairly recent thread that might be helpful for you: https://forums.watchuseek.com/f11/hel...4623799-4.html

The bottom line is that you can certainly buy a good stainless Seamster within your budget on eBay, etsy, or a sales forum. Of course, it is necessary to carefully vet the watch to determine authenticity.
    -- Dan (formerly known as @badbackdan)
    ------- @oldwatchdan on Instagram -------

The watch looks ok