Help ID this Zenith

Thread: Help ID this Zenith

Help ID this Zenith

hello everyone,

I'm very new to the world of vintage pieces, and would appreciate your patience and help.
    Been doing research for a several hours now. All I know is that it may be a cal. 40 or 40T? Am told that's 9 carat gold.
    Not sure of the size, but based on chrono24,which has a simlar one, it may be a 35mm.
    Based on the images I have, the serial number begins with a 955XXXX, can't read the remaining digits.

If anyone know more about this model specifically, I'de appreciate your help. How much is a watch like this worth, if i great condition?

Cheers

Attachment 667744

Re: Help ID this Zenith

Hi.

Your picture upload doesn't seem to have worked. Please try again and I'm sure Hartmut will be able to tell you something - except for value, which we don't do in this forum. (see sticky for reasons).
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects."

Will Rogers (1879 - 1935)

Please don't PM me to ask for a valuation - I won't attempt one.

fair enough, vintage pieces can be priceless.
    Thanks again.
    Name:  8027ddj_20.jpeg
Views: 245
Size:  42.9 KB

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Zenith Forum Co-moderator

It definitely looks like a 1950s watch which was the heyday of the Cal. 40 (made in 320000 pieces between 1947 and 1963 as the Cal. 40 and the 40T version - the latter has a mobile stud holder). If it has some other movement, it will probably be a Cal. 106 or 126, the two differ merely in size.

The Cal. 40 was Zenith's "other" chronometre movement, the far more famous and rarer one being the Cal. 135. That is not to say that these were the only chronometre movements Zenith had - all their movements had at least one tested and certified example so that all Zenith movements were in principle capable of chronometric accuracy. If yours has the Cal. 40, here is an example to compare it with (calibre designation is under the balance wheel):