Help me choose vintage watch -- $300

Thread: Help me choose vintage watch -- $300

Help me choose vintage watch -- $300

I am in the market for a vintage watch and would love to hear what you all recommend.

Here are a few parameters:

-around $300, or less.
    -manual or automatic (I don't like quartz on principle)
    -nothing that demands a metal band (I prefer leather)

I love old Omegas, Wittnauers, Elgins, etc.

Any thoughts?

Re: Help me choose vintage watch -- $300

First you need to find out what a service (clean, oil, and adjust) costs in your area and include that in your cost. If it's $100 to $125 that reduces the price you can pay to $175 to $200. A Gold Filled or Stainless Hamilton can be found in that price range. The best movements are the 770 and 982M with the 982M being found mostly in gold watchs but it sometimes shows up in lesser cases. The 982 and 980 movements are very good also there are others but I'm not a Hamilton expert. Top Elgins can be had for similar prices the 730/750/780 hand wind movements are top notch, the 760 automatic is also very good, but it can be hard to find in good condition with parts difficult to source. Again the are othe top notch movements.

Quote Originally Posted by dsantos1 View Post
    I am in the market for a vintage watch and would love to hear what you all recommend.

Here are a few parameters:

-around $300, or less.
    -manual or automatic (I don't like quartz on principle)
    -nothing that demands a metal band (I prefer leather)

Sounds like you're on the right track! Have you checked out the vintage Rado range? They made a lovely series of Golden Star; Silver Star and Sea Horse watches as well as voyager ones.