Help with Watch ID?

Thread: Help with Watch ID?

Help with Watch ID?

Hey guys, I'm a little new to this but my dad is pretty good with watches but suggested I get some advice from you guys :)

Basically I was in the charity shop and I managed to find a cute little watch.

When I got it home and looked further it said "17 Jewel" I remembered seeing this on my dads Rolex once and had a further look. It says "New Sun" and "Lucky Star"

I'll upload a picture as soon as I can get my camera working.

On the front it looks like a star with a circular clockface and on the back its a 1900 liberty coin.

Any ideas guys?

EDIT:

Picture here http://yfrog.com/2oiphone241j

Upon further inspection it has a signature on the inside of "MP 4x99"

Does this mean anything?
    Last edited by bexygh; July 1st, 2010 at 00:27. Reason: adding picture/more info

Re: Help with Watch ID?

Hard to tell from phone camera pics but 17 jewels usually indicates a mechanical winder from the 20's to 60's.
    "Forever is composed of nows." - Emily Dickinson

"The watch has to be surrounded by a history.
    You need more than just a great design. You need to create an atmosphere around the product.
    Who is the company behind it? Why are they using this material?
    People need to be able to identify the watch with themselves. It's based on emotion." - Ralph Furter

...that's just my opinion and I've been wrong before and will be again and might be now!

Mod. Russian, China Mech. Chascomm's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by bexygh View Post
    Hey guys, I'm a little new to this but my dad is pretty good with watches but suggested I get some advice from you guys :)

Basically I was in the charity shop and I managed to find a cute little watch.

When I got it home and looked further it said "17 Jewel" I remembered seeing this on my dads Rolex once and had a further look. It says "New Sun" and "Lucky Star"

I'll upload a picture as soon as I can get my camera working.