Hep identifying first of my small collection
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Hep identifying first of my small collection

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Hep identifying first of my small collection

I've done a fair bit of searching and keep coming back to here. I've inherited a few pocket watches and old wrist watches. I'm most interested in finding out a bit more information on this pocket watch. All I can tell you is it was purchased somewhere round the 30's by my great grandfather. The pictures are not great, the case is made by Dennison and has a case number of 280628.
    I'm unsure where to find the actual movement serial number. I hope I don't annoy anyone with my ignorance, I'm a newbie when it comes to watches.Name:  Mechanism sm.jpg
Views: 285
Size:  235.5 KBName:  Front sm.jpg
Views: 249
Size:  135.3 KBName:  Case sm.jpg
Views: 252
Size:  109.8 KB

Re: Hep identifying first of my small collection

Hi and welcome
    First we can not tell anything from the case serial number, sadly all records have gone.
    But it appears you have a Rolex pocket watch.
    Rolex made a few pocket watches, but I thought not as late as 30s.

at first, I thought maybe barrel wheel had just been replaced with a 'Rolex' one, but the double sunk dial looks extra quality.
    Movement is not Aegler, who were Rolex's standard movement maker

Some research needed
    adam
    Last edited by HOROLOGIST007; August 10th, 2014 at 12:17.
    NEVER ARGUE WITH AN IDIOT. FIRST THEY WILL DRAG YOU DOWN TO THEIR LEVEL. THEN, THEY WILL BEAT YOU WITH EXPERIENCE.

"Failure is not an option" - Gene Kranz
    "Owning a vintage watch is great, understanding where it sits in Horology is magnificent"
    and
    "By Teaching Others, We Teach Ourselves"
    Adam

Of course Hi and welcomed