Hooked

Thread: Hooked

Hooked

Hi all,

Ive been hoarding watches for about 2 years now. Most of my collection are inexpensive fashion watches. So far I have 2.5 SottoMarino Italias, a Hurlingham, a Luccien Piccard, an Invicta Auto Prodiver, a G-Shock, and a couple Kenneth Coles. I was recently given my first, "vintage", watch and ive fallen in love with this era of watches. I love the bubble acrylic crystal. Its a Webster Mechanical no serial number or model name that i could find. It reads swiss made on the dial. Its a base metal case that is showing some surface rust at the case lift opening. So im assuming its been opened before i did. Possible Service? Ive not been able to find much about the brand. On the inside of the case back it is stamped, "Ferex S.A. Case Swiss Made", I believe its about 40-45 years old the trademark Ferex died in 1971. if any other info yall maybe able to pass on to me would be much appreciated. Here are some pictures of it. I put a cheap band on in until i decide what direction i want to go with it. i was thinking a thin soft bull strap or ostrich.

As you can see is pretty clean. It runs a little fast from what I can tell about 2 mins a day. Anyways im in love with it and i'm in the process of buying a few more of this age from its prievious owner. Seiko Auto Gold filled, Timex mechanical Gold filled and a Gruen that appers to be a bit older. If ya'll could point me in the direction of similar vintage watch brands to look out for in comparable value(50-100). ive been looking at some vintage Soviet and German aviator and U-boat styles as well.

Cheers
    Brandon

Vint. Forum Co-Moderator Mirius's Avatar

Re: Hooked

Welcome to the forum Brandon!

Can't say I can tell you much except that is isn't much older if at all then early seventies from the hands. Someone might recognise the calibre, but it might help to know what is written on it.