How would you price this pocket watch?

Thread: How would you price this pocket watch?

How would you price this pocket watch?

I have a working Waltham "Vanguard" Yellow Gold Filled 21j railroad pocket watch circa 1902. The tag it came with says it's worth $800 as is, 1200 refurbished. It has never been used, and has only been taken out of its case a few times. How do I price this, and where can I sell it? I'm new at this?

Name:  5V55W05R33n43k53l7b9u3d05c0cb56ca134e.jpg
Views: 306
Size:  5.9 KB

Name:  5V65O45Q13k33p83leb9u562a37559e261716.jpg
Views: 260
Size:  5.1 KB

Re: How would you price this pocket watch?

Hello , nice pocket watch, I would suggest scanning E-bay or have it appraised, we do not perform evaluations of watches on this forum, please refer to forum rules.

That falls under the category of "Valuations", which the stickies state we don't do.

What we <can> do is give you a general idea of the quality of the watch and other little tidbits that'll let you determine how your watch compares to other, similar watches that have sold on the internet or in auction listings. However, for that we'd need a good picture of the movment. In general, while Vanguards are good railroad grade watches, its the ones with the up/down indicator that fetch the big bucks. I just did a "completed listing" search on Ebay (which only goes back 30 days, I think), and the most expensive Vanguad that's sold recent went for $523. But that was a really good looking 18 size 23j vanguard with diamond endstones.
    My growing collection of "affordable" vintages: http://www.abslomrob.com

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

I'll give you five bucks and I'll handle the delivery.
    "Pipes are occasionally of extraordinary interest...nothing has more individuality save, perhaps, watches and bootlaces."

- Sherlock Holmes.

'The Yellow Face'.

Vintage & NAWCC Forum moderator Ben_hutcherson's Avatar

Just a couple of points to consider: