I need help!

Thread: I need help!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

I need help!

Hi! I'm Laura, a friend of Jeannie (GinGinD) and I am new to watchuseek. I am a writer researching vintage pocket watches and I have so many questions. The subject is so confusing! I hope someone can help me.

1. What is a detent escapement?
    2. How do you wind a Hory Oignion?
    3. Are fusee’s still in pocket watches?
    4. Did pocket watches have apertures for day, date, month, and phases of the moon prior to 1700?
    5. Do any pocket watches prior to 1700 need a key to be wound?

I would appreciate any help!

Thanks,

Laura
    Last edited by GinGinD; May 27th, 2010 at 18:30.

Re: I need help!

Hi and welcome.

I know nothing about pocket watches, but I'm sure those that do will be along shortly.
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects."

Will Rogers (1879 - 1935)

Please don't PM me to ask for a valuation - I won't attempt one.

Quote Originally Posted by Lauramal View Post
    Hi! I'm Laura, a friend of Jeannie Dees (Gingind) and I am new to watchuseek. I am a writer researching vintage pocket watches and I have so many questions. The subject is so confusing! I hope someone can help me.

1. What is a detent escapement?
    2. How do you wind a Hory Oignion?
    3. Are fusee’s still in pocket watches?
    4. Did pocket watches have apertures for day, date, month, and phases of the moon prior to 1700?
    5. Do any pocket watches prior to 1700 need a key to be wound?

I would appreciate any help!

Thanks,

Laura
    Doesn't researching things involve some actual research?
    I do not wish to be rude, but as a writer shouldn't you be able to do this research yourself?

Public libraries frequently don't have the books in stock, but they can frequently get them in from reference libraries. And of course the internet (and Google) can probably find all the information you need.