Inherited Watch

Thread: Inherited Watch

Inherited Watch

Hi all, I just inherited a pocket watch from my grandfather who said it was his grandfather's. I have little to no experience in the world of pocket watches. The dial says American National Watch Co., And the inside of the flip open case says Champion and has the number "2965175" underneath. Any help identifying what this is would be great help. Also, where would be a place to get this watch serviced/restored? Thanks again for any help.

Re: Inherited Watch

It may be helpful to review forum guidelines and advice in the sticky threads, this one in particular will help you get better feedback:
    https://forums.watchuseek.com/f11/da...rst-68346.html
    -- Dan (formerly known as @badbackdan)
    ------- @oldwatchdan on Instagram -------

Superspydude...Hello!

As you'll soon discover (!) Watchuseek is a place where 'A picture is worth 1,000 words'!

Sounds like you have an American-made watch ( Elgin? ), in what's known as a "Gold Filled" case: mostly brass, but with a sheet of Gold. These cases can be of a very nice quality, and quite desirable.

Once you Post some pictures, we'll be Off to the Races!

Michael.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Pictures are helpful.

I'm new to the world of pocket watches, but I've found that one really good resource is the Pocket Watch Database. As you will see, you can plug in the maker and serial number of the movement and up pops a data sheet on a particular watch like the one below, which may or may not be your watch. (American was an early name of the more widely known Waltham.) If it's one of the major manufacturers, you can learn more about the company by clicking on the maker listed along the top and going to the "Company Profile" link in the drop down menu.