Inherited watches - novice looking for advice.
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Inherited watches - novice looking for advice.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Inherited watches - novice looking for advice.

Hello All,

This is a first post for me having only just joined so please accept my apologies if some of you have been through this type of message before.

When my grandfather passed away some years ago I was given his collection of watches, mostly 1960's and 1970's but none of them were working. Nothing of real significant value but they have sat in a box for the better part of a decade. I've decided to try and return some life to the ones that look like they may have a future but I am a complete novice with regards to watch maintenance and repair.

Currently I have managed to get his Sekonda 19 Jewel USSR watch (2609.HA movement) running using some donor watches he had left around. I do have another watch sitting on my table i'm hoping to save. It is a Josmar Calendar Watch, the movement is completely seized so i'm planning on stripping it down to clean. I've purchased an incomplete donor watch for spares as back-up.

I don't have a picture of my actual watch, but I have got pictures of the watch and movement that I purchased as a donor which is identical (see below).

Does anyone have any information or advice on this type of watch / movement? If i have left any key information out please let me know, I'd really like to see his watches watches running again.

Thanks

Name:  josmar face 1.jpg
Views: 233
Size:  8.9 KBName:  josmar movement.jpg
Views: 234
Size:  23.5 KB

Zenith Forum Co-moderator

Re: Inherited watches - novice looking for advice.

Welcome to Watchuseek. That's the old Baumgartner Cal. BFG 866 or a derivative:

bidfun-db Archiv: Uhrwerke: Baumgartner 866