Interested in buying vintage watch. Need oppinions

Thread: Interested in buying vintage watch. Need oppinions

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Interested in buying vintage watch. Need oppinions

I am new to vintage watches, I was hoping someone can let me know whether these are authentic or not.

Baume Mercier Men Wrist Chronograph Great Vintage Timepiece for Collectors | eBay

Vintage Baume Mercier Chronograph Golden Sunburst Dial | eBay

Vintage Girard Perregaux Fancy Two Toned Golden Textured Design Dial | eBay

If you have any suggestions where else I can find these other then ebay please let me know.

Re: Interested in buying vintage watch. Need oppinions

Hi there,

both brands belong to the most freqently faked, and all three are fakes. If you are new to old watches, simply stay away from these brands. When you become more experienced you'll stay away voluntarily, because you became tired to pick the few originals out of the heap of junk.

Moreover most vintage watches of these brands have just generic movements from mass production, and you get much more watch for the buck with most other brands. And precisely this is the reason why they can be faked so easily.

And last not least you always should look what a seller offers else. The seller "absolute-antiques" should rename himself to "absolute-fakes". I found just two items in his collection which may be original (by accident?). He is obvouously the US general importer for South American junk.

Regards, Roland Ranfft
    Last edited by Roland Ranfft; November 27th, 2013 at 20:41.