Introduction & Questions about a 1976 Gir
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By nonfinal
  • 1 Post By Hartmut Richter

Thread: Introduction & Questions about a 1976 Gir

Introduction & Questions about a 1976 Gir

Hi folks!

My name is Alex, and I'm new to watchuseek (long-time-lurker turned poster). I'm the proud owner of a number of watches including a Tissot PRS 200, a Tissot PRC 200, a simple Seiko solar, a Timex Weekender, etc. However, the reason I'm posting here is because I have recently inherited my grandfather's Girard Perregaux Olimpico, and am checking in to see if I can find out some more information on the watch.

Name:  IMG_5276.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  1.16 MB
    Name:  IMG_5277.JPG
Views: 100
Size:  2.54 MB
    Name:  IMG_5278.JPG
Views: 101
Size:  2.76 MB
    Name:  IMG_5280.JPG
Views: 98
Size:  2.69 MB

From this post I've deduced that it's the 1976 version. Thankfully it currently works (both the time keeping and chronograph functions), and it appears to be pretty accurate. I know this is a shot in the dark, but I'm wondering if anybody has any information on these topics. I apologize for any amateur questions.
    1. The crystal is very scuffed up. Were the original crystals very scratch-resistant? If so, is it likely that this is a replacement? Does anybody have any suggestions on ways to polish it up, or is it best to try to find a way to replace it?
    2. I've never owned a wind-up watch before and am curious on some of the workings. The crown spins freely when I twist it counterclockwise (i.e. the direction opposite to the way it winds) - is this normal? Should I have it checked out?
    3. Does anyone have knowledge about the original band? Since the band my grandfather had was broken, I put on a cheap black leather band that I had sitting around, but I'm wondering what the original looked like? I would like to try to put something on that looks more like the original band.