Just picked up a Citizen Jet Autodater

Thread: Just picked up a Citizen Jet Autodater

Picture Just picked up a Citizen Jet Autodater

I may have overpaid, but something about the 40mm case and the silver dial with gold hands and indices suckered me in.

Normally I can't stand anything gold colored, but this one struck me as special.

I know it's likely going to need a service, any recommendations? Also, what would the market price for these normally be... I paid over $150 for it and I'm not sure I got a good deal or got ripped.

Last edited by wristrested; February 5th, 2010 at 22:18.
    Matt

Re: Just picked up a Citizen Jet Autodater

I'm no expert but I think it's beautiful.

What a unique automatic movement!

Other than the discoloring of the caseback, it looks to be in very good condition. It will probably cost you about what you paid to get it serviced.

Certainly collectible even if not really valuable.
    "Forever is composed of nows." - Emily Dickinson

"The watch has to be surrounded by a history.
    You need more than just a great design. You need to create an atmosphere around the product.
    Who is the company behind it? Why are they using this material?
    People need to be able to identify the watch with themselves. It's based on emotion." - Ralph Furter

...that's just my opinion and I've been wrong before and will be again and might be now!

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

I think it is a fine looking dress watch and as Eeeb said it's movement gives it a certain cachet as a collectible.
    I know nothing except the fact of my own ignorance. Socrates

Hi -

Very, very interesting movement. According to Ranfft's pink pages, the type of movement - which is an automatic winding system with a ring rotor rotating on three rollers - was built in two different families of movements, but he does not document a 27 jewel movement, just up to 25 jewels.