La Forge vintage watch
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Fred.S

Thread: La Forge vintage watch

Hi WUS,
    I just replaced the broken mainspring and serviced this vintage La Forge watch 33mm all SS and it feels quite well made. The movement is marked Macy H.R but there's no movement maker reference or number, however, when I tried to look up the brand, I couldn't find any literature other than it was a brand by a jeweler at Macy's.
    Does anyone know the history of this brand and they're watches and in what era do you think this watch was made, I'll attach some pictures.
    Thank you
    Attached Images Attached Images

Last edited by Fred.S; April 15th, 2018 at 21:29.
    parrotandpitbull likes this.

Re: La Forge vintage watch

Lovely watch, Fred. Well done on getting it sorted. I'm afraid I'm no expert, but it looks to be from the 40s to me (size and sub-seconds). Could also be the case that in those days, when many Swiss companies, including movement makers, were still thriving, it wouldn't have been too difficult to find a company to make these with Macy's branding. Smiths in England made watches for Benson's the jeweller's for example.

Sorry I can't be of more help. You might have better luck posting in Vintage & Pocketwatches forum.

Zenith Forum Co-moderator

Unless "Moisturproof" (without the "E") is a brand name (like "Compax" or "Compur" for Universal Geneve), I would definitely suspect this to be a redial. And in view of the unusually pristine dial and the slightly raised "F" in "Moisturproof", my suspicions are abnormally high.....

Hartmut Richter

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by Hartmut Richter View Post
    Unless "Moisturproof" (without the "E") is a brand name (like "Compax" or "Compur" for Universal Geneve), I would definitely suspect this to be a redial. And in view of the unusually pristine dial and the slightly raised "F" in "Moisturproof", my suspicions are abnormally high.....