LeCoultre Futurematic
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By JohnF

Thread: LeCoultre Futurematic

LeCoultre Futurematic

Hi,

Have been trying to purchase one of this watch from the ebay and came across a total of 3 types (different color/dial).

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=110080187222
    http://cgi.ebay.com/1950s-LeCoultre-...hippingPayment
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Beautiful-LeCoul...QQcmdZViewItem

Can expert here advise me on LeCoultre Futurematic? Does anybody know what is the possible trading price for this watch?

Many many thanks for any kind of advise.

Re: LeCoultre Futurematic

Hi -

I'm not an expert on Futurematics by any stretch of the imagination, but here's my take. No promises, though.

First, the Futurematics were early to late 1950s. There were two calibres, the 497 bumper automatic (which are the ones you link to) and the 817, which used a color porthole to show the winding status. The 497 is, I think, more attractive than the 817. Most parts should be interchangeable, and the model number is engraved on the main plate.

There is no crown to the right, but rather on the back of the watch. Quite a remarkable design, as they should also hack (i.e. the movement stops when you're setting the time). Very "Futuristic", hence the name.

My Shugart's "Complete Price Guide To Watches" shows prices ranging from $400 to over $1000, but it's from 2005 and those numbers are probably higher by now.