Longines advice needed
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By 707mm2

Thread: Longines advice needed

Longines advice needed

I am new to the watch addiction and know very little about vintages. My dad gave me a few vintage watches (croton, timex, nicolet, and benrus) that were left in a box for years. The Longines seemed the most interesting as far as brands go. The dial is in the worst shape and it looks like its missing a jewel at the balance wheel. I need help in deciding if this watch is worth refinishing the dial and getting the movement serviced and running? I have no emotional attachment to this watch but I like the style of the dial but it is in bad shape!
    Name:  20190620_164915.jpg
Views: 69
Size:  736.7 KBName:  20190612_215327.jpg
Views: 65
Size:  662.8 KBName:  20190612_215342.jpg
Views: 68
Size:  249.1 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Longines advice needed

Welcome to the addiction, and it definitely is one, but fairly a harmless one. :)

Here is some more information about your movement:
    bidfun-db Archive: Watch Movements: Longines 12L

I was hoping there would be some inexpensive parts movement listed on eBay but no luck right now. I'd hold off on the redial until you can get the movement taken care of, and you might even get lucky and find a parts movement with a dial. Most collectors tend to frown on redials and prefer originality. Your dial has obviously seen better days but I actually kind of like it.

Your regulator looks different than the other 12L movement I'm looking at so I'm not sure what is missing or what may have been done to it in the past.

Hopefully some Longines experts (I am not one) will chime in.

Have fun!

Thanks for your response. My first step will be to take it to a local watch maker. If it gets to running again then I will need to make a decision on the dial. I love the style of the dial it just looks bad. I'm not sure at what point is refinishing the prudent decision.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com