Longines Professional c.1941?

Thread: Longines Professional c.1941?

Longines Professional c.1941?

Hi there, noob here,
    I fell in love with this watch when I first saw it and now its mine, but I wonder if anyone could help me by identifying the movement- I searched and searched but can't find anything that looks like it.
    Here's the watch:

OK, it's pretty shabby: it's missing its second hand (shaft looks broken off inside the other hands), the dial is pretty worn out- it looks like silver but the numerals are worn off almost completely and there's a nasty scratch, but the watch seems to work and keep pretty good time, and I'd like it to be my new daily wearer.

Can anyone identify this movement? It's pretty gashed up where someone's tried to remove the winding stem with a wrong sized screwdriver, which is a shame But it works.

I think the watch is a Longines Professional which appears in their catalogue in 1941, the serial number of the movement indicates 1939.

Vintage Watches - Collect...Identify...Discuss

The watch back says waterproof which I assume means resistant in reality! The watch seams to have a lead gasket. Is there anything that should be done to that lead to make sure of a good seal?

The crystal is loose- I think someone fitted the wrong size. Can I fit a standard plastic crystal or would it need to be special for a watch of this age?

I'd like to get the watch as water resistant as possible so any tips?

TIA for any info,

Mark
    Attached Images Attached Images

Last edited by Markse; March 29th, 2012 at 20:49. Reason: spelin n grama

Re: Longines Professional c.1941?

I forgot to mention that the case is 30mm dia W/O crown and the strap lugs 15mm wide if that helps with identifying the movement.
    Mark

Zenith Forum Co-moderator

It looks like a derivative of the Cal. 12.68 with indirect central seconds adaptation. Here is the base calibre:

bidfun-db Archiv: Uhrwerke: Longines 12.68Z