Looking for some advice on a vintage Tissot
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Eeeb

Thread: Looking for some advice on a vintage Tissot

Looking for some advice on a vintage Tissot

Hi all,

I am a newbie when it comes to vintage watches but I have been interested in them for a long time. Browsing through the forums here I came upon a few pictures of the Tissot Seastar. I was searching the web and found the one I was looking for. Here are some pics:
    Name:  $(KGrHqN,!rME-Y0)MeW5BPtMj+WCK!~~60_3.jpg
Views: 364
Size:  70.5 KB
    Name:  561346480_o.jpg
Views: 456
Size:  283.6 KB
    Name:  561346511_o.jpg
Views: 330
Size:  196.4 KB
    Name:  561346395_o.jpg
Views: 373
Size:  187.8 KB

I have a few questions and some concerns. First, not really a question, is the seller does not offer a whole lot of specifics on the watch just a generic year range and that the watch was recently services and working well.

Second is that this watch looks in great shape but up close the lume on the markers look a little lumpy and a tad smeared, is this normal or do you think the dial and lume have been repainted?

Third, am I just being too picky or does the movement look a little dirty. I understand vintage watches will not look pristine but I also don’t want to have to completely overhaul a movement shortly after a purchase. BTW, the seller is asking $250 for this piece.

Fourth, what should I expect on a +/- sec/min per day on a vintage watch like this?

And lastly, it looks like the seller sold this exact watch two months ago. I’m guessing the original buyer returned the watch; don’t really know of any other explanation.

I appreciate any help, guidance, advice, or encouragement to help me finally pull the trigger on my first vintage watch.

Re: Looking for some advice on a vintage Tissot

This is definitely a redial. Crudely applied lume.