LOV Vintage watch
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By skyraider59
  • 2 Post By mkws

Thread: LOV Vintage watch

LOV Vintage watch

Hi, I wonder if someone could help, I am no expert and only have a small collection of watches. This watch came from France and I know LOV is a French manufacturer, but this is all I know. Looking at it, I suspect this is pre WWII, but I would love to know more about it. Would also love to get it working as I and my wife do love the shape and face and she would wear it. Here are some photos. You can not wind the watch but can adjust the time ok. I got the back off, but this is as far as I can go, can not see the mechanism, not that I would know what to do . We really like the face which has what seems to be a copper detail insert???? Could be totally wrong of course! Any Info or advise would be appreciated, I am in the UK, thanks. JL
    Name:  IMG_0078.JPG
Views: 354
Size:  559.9 KB
    Name:  IMG_0072.JPG
Views: 352
Size:  579.1 KB
    Name:  IMG_0073.JPG
Views: 346
Size:  572.3 KB
    Name:  IMG_0074.JPG
Views: 343
Size:  588.6 KB
    Name:  IMG_0076.JPG
Views: 384
Size:  259.7 KB
    esdy_11192 likes this.

Re: LOV Vintage watch

I know nothing about that but, its a cool lookong watch.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

A movement picture would help.

The design + the fixed lugs would suggest mid to late 1930s. It's not a copper insert in the dial, nope.

LOV was indeed a French manufacturer, based in Villers-le-Lac. Used mostly generic French movements (quite certainly ones by Cupillard, later probably also ones by France Ebauches).

If it can't be wound (crown doesn't want to move), this means, that the mainspring is fully wound, but the movement is jammed with old, sticky grease. Will require at least a basic COA (cleaning, oiling, adjusting).
    busmatt and esdy_11192 like this.
    I have great faith in fools; self-confidence my friends call it.
    Edgar Allan Poe