For Me, how do I spot a fake.

Thread: For Me, how do I spot a fake.

For Me, how do I spot a fake.

I am a beginner and am unfamiliar with way to many watch brands to not be taken in. Now I go to an antique store and get 100 bucks for a mint condition walthem Railroad watch that is complete and works well, gives me a bad feeling. If I find an Aviator watch for 25 bucks working, what are the chances you fine folks will tell me it is a fake. Second why do people bother to make a fake of something other than a Rolex or Patek Phillipe even Walthums that are everywhere? It seems like people would fake something that is in high demand and produces profit. Faking a Walthum to make money seems odd. Thanks.

Banned

Re: For Me, how do I spot a fake.

The chances of a person buying a watch that's fake is a reciprocal function of their experience. More experience = less chance of getting hosed.

Faking anything to make money is done.... to make money. The counterfeiter is more confident that the buyer won't be as wary spending $100 as they would shelling out $10,000. They also have less odds of a buyer returning angrily over a smaller amount of money, not to mention the legal aspects - after a certain amount an offense goes from a misdemeanor to a felony charge.

Here is a misdemeanor fake railroad watch (I love that term ):

"Forever is composed of nows." - Emily Dickinson

"The watch has to be surrounded by a history.
    You need more than just a great design. You need to create an atmosphere around the product.
    Who is the company behind it? Why are they using this material?
    People need to be able to identify the watch with themselves. It's based on emotion." - Ralph Furter

...that's just my opinion and I've been wrong before and will be again and might be now!

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements