My first post
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Eeeb
  • 1 Post By Hartmut Richter
  • 1 Post By HOROLOGIST007

Thread: My first post

My first post

Hi! I am new to the world of watches and have started learning basic repair techniques etc in order to clean up some old watches.
    I would like to know if this watch (see images) would have much value if restored. And if it would be worth having the watch restored. It is an Avia swiss made 15 jewel manual wind movement. Without original strap.

As you can see in the pictures there is a crack in the crystal, seconds hand is missing and the face shows signs of ageing. As for the movement, I bought this originally as an educational project and am still in the process of putting it back together. It was fully functioning before it reached me so I will hopefully have it running again soon!
    Attachment 1147909
    Name:  Avia2.png
Views: 120
Size:  235.2 KB

Let me know your thoughts!

Thanks
    Last edited by callumr123; July 7th, 2013 at 21:56. Reason: Image overlap

Re: My first post

The first watch any watchmaker works in is almost always destroyed. Buy some cheap movements and hone your skills on those. It would be a shame to destroy this watch. It is too nice.
    callumr123 likes this.
    "Forever is composed of nows." - Emily Dickinson

"The watch has to be surrounded by a history.
    You need more than just a great design. You need to create an atmosphere around the product.
    Who is the company behind it? Why are they using this material?
    People need to be able to identify the watch with themselves. It's based on emotion." - Ralph Furter

...that's just my opinion and I've been wrong before and will be again and might be now!

Zenith Forum Co-moderator