Need confirmation for a Hampden pocket watch (56K warning!)
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Silppuri

Thread: Need confirmation for a Hampden pocket watch (56K warning!)

Need confirmation for a Hampden pocket watch (56K warning!)

Sorry to barge into the forum without any useful contributions, as I'm a newbie when it comes to watches. I've had a very nice Molnija pocket watch with a train engraving on its case (which I broke due to my enthusiastic "fixing" behavior, namely a boring day and a screwdriver), but now my interest is in a pocket watch my grandfather gave me.

It's a Hampden watch, and he said that he read from a book called American Watches: Hampden Watches (or something like that) that the piece is from 1873. I stumbled upon a page yesterday that you can input the movement's serial number (I assume), and it gave me this:

Name:  hampden.png
Views: 275
Size:  6.8 KB

So according to that, the watch is made in 1895. I tried to break this down to my grandpa, but he kinda refuses to believe in the "online sources". So, dear knowledgeable persons, can you find any info on this watch from anywhere else than that website I checked? I found a watch with a similar-looking case from eBay, but it doesn't look the same... Nevertheless, here are the photos of my watch. Feel free to click them to get a bigger version:

Front:
    Name:  1_pieni.jpg
Views: 223
Size:  404.6 KB

Back:
    Name:  2_pieni.jpg
Views: 218
Size:  369.0 KB

Name:  3_pieni.jpg
Views: 217
Size:  369.4 KB

Name:  4_pieni.jpg
Views: 201
Size:  239.7 KB

Name:  5_pieni.jpg
Views: 193
Size:  339.9 KB

Name:  6_pieni.jpg
Views: 200
Size:  393.5 KB
    parrotandpitbull likes this.

Re: Need confirmation for a Hampden pocket watch (56K warning!)

Nice looking watch; in 1895, a size 6 watch would most likely have been a ladies watch. This certainly looks typical for that era, and it matches known pictures of the Hampden size 6 movement.