Need Help with ID of Family Heirloom

Thread: Need Help with ID of Family Heirloom

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question Need Help with ID of Family Heirloom

Hi,
    I am new to Watchuseek and this is my first post.

I need help identifying an antique pocketwatch that has been handed down from generation to generation. I have not been able to find anything online to even point me in the right direction as to putting a name and date to this watch.

The face has the word "Storch" and "Frankfurd" enscribed on it. When it is opened, you can see "G. L. Storch 360" enscribed. It is chain driven and I believe uses a fusee key. Hopefully the pictures attached will help.

Anyt information as to the manufacture, range of time, or even region (I am assuming Frankfurt, Germany) would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Couevas

Re: Need Help with ID of Family Heirloom

Moved to Vintage and Pocket Watches subforum.

Jeannie

Hi There and welcome!

Thats an impressive looking watch (from a pocket watch novices point of view). I have not seen many (early) PW's with date windows.

I hope someone who knows more than me can shed some light on this for you!
    A designer knows he has achieved perfection not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away...

Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Twitter: quickpicmarc

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

That's a real nice watch.That was most likely all hand made due to being made in the early days of watch making.That's what's called a Fusse movement.There should be hall marks on the case that could help in dating the watch and what country it was made can you get a photo of the hall marks and a better photo of the name on the movement would also help in the ID.
    Last edited by river rat; May 9th, 2011 at 16:21.

The only marks I could find are on the watch face and inside on the back as shown in the 5th picture.