Need some info about this golden watch...

Thread: Need some info about this golden watch...

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Need some info about this golden watch...

Hi guys, recently i found this golden watch belonged to my grand grand father or grand grand grand father, anyway I have no experience it this matter and I am searching for more info about origin and some kind of evaluation. I searched the internet but didn't found a watch similar to
    this one. Any help is appriciated.

Re: Need some info about this golden watch...

It looks like a pretty modern production pocket-watch. If I recall, non-magnetic watches didn't come in until the 1940s or something. My guess would be (and this is a guess and nothing else) that it's from the 50s at the earliest.

If you can get the caseback off (and I think this one just unscrews) and photograph the movement and the inside of the caseback, we may be able to tell you if the watch is solid gold or gold-filled and what quality of movement it has.

We don't give any evaluations here, sorry. It's not easy to evaluate watches based purely on photographs, which is why this site doesn't do it.
    "Pipes are occasionally of extraordinary interest...nothing has more individuality save, perhaps, watches and bootlaces."

- Sherlock Holmes.

'The Yellow Face'.

I managed to open it

Quote Originally Posted by Shangas View Post
    It looks like a pretty modern production pocket-watch. If I recall, non-magnetic watches didn't come in until the 1940s or something. My guess would be (and this is a guess and nothing else) that it's from the 50s at the earliest.

If you can get the caseback off (and I think this one just unscrews) and photograph the movement and the inside of the caseback, we may be able to tell you if the watch is solid gold or gold-filled and what quality of movement it has.

We don't give any evaluations here, sorry. It's not easy to evaluate watches based purely on photographs, which is why this site doesn't do it.