New to me Elgin 571 and an introduction

Thread: New to me Elgin 571 and an introduction

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

New to me Elgin 571 and an introduction

Hello all. My name is Brian. I'm 27, married with 5 wonderful kids. We live in Central IL. I've always loved mechanical stuff, and loved the immediate pre- and post- war era items. I love fountain pens, pocket knives, straight razors, and pocket watches.

My first foray into pocket watches was with a "dollar watch" I bought at an antique store for $40. I wound it, it kept time for 10 minutes, so I took it home with me. 24 hrs later it was behind 3 hours. Even adjusted as fast as possible, it lost 30 min in 24 hrs. I was advised it wouldn't be cost effective to have it repaired. So, I took it apart, which was fun.

Education costs money. It cost me on razors, on pens, on knives, and now on watches.

Hopefully I'm not going for a "master's in poor watch buying" with my latest purchase. I'm a paramedic full time, but recently started at a local pawn shop. I love it. Lots of opportunities for good "picks". I hope this counts as one. As with all online forums, I'm sure it's verboten to ask about value, but I paid $97.20 out the door for this beauty.

As far as I can figure from my limited research it is an Elgin 571, BW Raymond type II, the last of the Elgin RR watches. It is obviously a 21 jewel. Based on the fact that it is a lettered and numbered serial, and after looking up what that means, places it at about 1950 production, a a 48,000,000 serial number.

I would like to get it serviced, and would like to replace the lens with a glass or polycarbonate lens, as it would make the watch much nicer looking.

How do I set the time? I couldn't figure that part out. I timed it against my phone for 6 hours and it stayed true as I could tell, down to the minute. I set my timer and I'll look tomorrow and see how well it keeps time.

I want to make this a daily user.

Hopefully I did ok. Here's the pictures.