New to watch collecting need help
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: New to watch collecting need help

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

New to watch collecting need help

Hi, I'm new to the world of collectable watches and recently got my first Swiss watch, my Grandpa's Tissot. I'm interested in collecting vintage Swiss watches but as a student don't have the funds for anything crazy, I've seen some very reasonably priced Omega watches such as the 1950's Omega Seamaster 30 for US $600 and an 1980's Omega de Ville for AUD $400 (but cant post the links) and would like any thoughts about reliability, service costs, if they are worth collecting, etc. Also if anyone has any watches they can suggest within the $1000 (AUD) mark, preferably mechanical and Swiss, it would be greatly appreciated.
    Kind regards

Re: New to watch collecting need help

Rule 1. Buy what you like, no body else's opinion matters.

Rule 2. Start with low value watches. By low I mean throw away money. What you consider disposable income and what someone working will consider disposable income will clearly differ, only you can put a figure on this. But if you are collecting, sooner or later you will buy a duff watch. We've all done it. The watch won't work, or something will be non original. A "normal" person wouldn't notice, but as a collector it'll bug you. Expect to make a mistake and as a newbie, don't spend more than you can afford to lose. As you learn you'll gain the confidence and knowledge to spend a little more.

Rule 3. Ask advice here, even if you have to type the URL of the link to the watch letter by letter. No one can guarantee that the watch you buy hasn't got a shady history, but the collective knowledge here will spot some of the watches that do. You'll also learn.

Rule 4. Stay away from the big names initially. Yep, that includes Omega. It's where the demand is, so that's where the fakers and frankenmakers concentrate.