Newbie, looking for a skeleton pocket watch

Thread: Newbie, looking for a skeleton pocket watch

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Newbie, looking for a skeleton pocket watch

Hello everybody,

I've got little to no experience in watches, and am currently looking to get a skeleton pocket watch because I really like seeing the working parts in motion.

Right now, the only pocket watch I have is a Majesti skeleton with a 17-jewel Chinese movement that I got off ebay for $10 about a year ago (this brand seems to retail for $20-$40 but it's not too hard to find a cheap NOS or second-hand one on ebay); it keeps time alright, although after a year of use it currently seems to be gaining a minute every day or two. It's a fun piece for a non-collector like me, but I've decided to look into getting something of a bit higher quality.

My knowledge of watches is limited to the info I got from a couple days of surfing the internet (on a seperate note, I'm currently hunting the 'Bay for a working Elgin, Waltham, or Hampden in the sub-$100 range), so I thought I'd run a few questions by you guys before spending any money on another skeleton watch.

I see a lot of no-brand $10 (which includes shipping) Chinese skeleton pocket watches on eBay, they all seem to use the same 17-jewel Chinese movement. In fact 95% of skeleton watches on ebay seem to be of this sort. Would these be of the same general quality as my Majesti?

I see on eBay and Amazon that the brands Colibri, Avalon, and Charles Hubert make skeleton pocket watches. They seem to have lower-end watches in the $50-$80 range and higher-end ones in the $150-$200 range. Are these brands significantly better than my $10 Majesti, or is the difference not that great? The $50-$80 Charles Hubert and Colibri watches seem fairly identical in style and design to my Majesti.