Old Altus watch
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Old Altus watch

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Old Altus watch

Dear readers,

I am new to watchuseek! So first of all, hi! and my compliments on the forum - very nice stories, information and of course pictures!

Recently I acquired an old Altus watch and I have been trying to gain some information on it. Being completely new to the world of wristwatches I hope some of you can help me out! Google and this forum give me very little information on the brand and its watches - making it a rather difficult sarch!

I have not been able to see the inside of the watch because I do not know how to remove the backplate - nor have I contacted a watchmaker to do this for me. It kind of looks like this one mentioned here earlier, but it also differs on many points as well! https://forums.watchuseek.com/f11/alt...al-460197.html

This is my first watch, and I am liking it very much, also it keeps time pretty well (about a minute a day fast) for such an old watch - it could be decades since it was last serviced. I would love to know more about it.

Apologies for the poor quality of the pictures, the only camera I have around is the one mounted on my phone! The gold is very pretty and the dial is less white than on this picture.

Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Last edited by Merkwerdichliebe; March 30th, 2013 at 11:40.

Re: Old Altus watch

Hello mid 40's swiss , 18k gold case, nice dial. Very nice watch, do not know too much about the Manufacturer(Glycine), I'm sure someone here will fill you in.
    Nice candidate for a restoration.
    FV
    Last edited by Fantasyvoyager; March 29th, 2013 at 18:15.

Hi and welcome.

That's a nice watch - a very simple but effective dial design.

What we know about Altus is in this thread: https://forums.watchuseek.com/f11/con...us-234758.html

This is mine:

nsmike likes this.
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects."

Will Rogers (1879 - 1935)