overwhelmed - guidelines needed

Thread: overwhelmed - guidelines needed

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

overwhelmed - guidelines needed

Hello,

Recently I inherited small collection of wrist watches. There are 20+ watches in collection and brands are Tissot, Favre Leuba, Vulcain, Juvenia. I was told that watches are aprox. form period 1970-1990. Some have, I think, original straps (marked strap and buckle) and some even have price/stock tags. On top of that I got some literature and catalog. As total newb to watches I would appreciate some guidelines from experienced people. Most of collection are mechanical watches and few are battery powered. I will probably left few pieces as sentimental value and rest will be traded or sold. In literature I got I failed to find any piece from collection, in there are many pieces from same brand and with wide range of prices but not one from collection. I went to local watchmaker but he wasnt able to help me, except some vague proposal to sell him whole collection for some ridiculously little sum.
    I decided to find more info about watches from collection before I do anything with them and I would be very thankful for any guidelines/information which will help me to do that.

Thank you for any help.

Re: overwhelmed - guidelines needed

Please post photos of each watch.

Banned

Quote Originally Posted by MichaelE View Post
    Please post photos of each watch.
    +1. Valuations are not allowed here, though.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

The easiest way to get fair value for them is to post them one at a time on ebay with close up (and focused) photos.

If you want to spend more time, research ebay completed auctions and try selling them (again with good photos) on sales corners of various watch forums.

Being able to list them as working and keeping time will increase their value .. so decide if you're prepared to get them to that state (ie new batteries and get them serviced if needed)